From Canadian Pharmacy to scareware to RBN?

To start in the middle:
New version of a known malware (or scareware, rogue security software or whatever you prefer to call it) called MalwareDoc, hosted at malware-doc. com.

The file downloaded is called MDSetup.exe, VirusTotal score is 0/39.

A present from the same gang using the name "AntispyKnight".

This is going to be a bit messy.

The starting point

It all started with a spam:
"How many girls you will be able to do happy eating one only pill!"
Sent via 91.121.94.95 which is ovh.net in France. Too much nastyness coming from that place lately. Not to mention that they are also hosting their share of nasty stuff.

The spam contained a link to a page at denon6.t35. com (a free host).
Which again redirected to a "Canadian" Pharmacy site automatically:

Location: h||p://sheaglow. com

I leave "Canadian" Pharmacy and Glavmed here, just notes that this was a spam intended to lead me to their site.

From Canadian Pharmacy to malware

If you already had a look at denon6.t35. com, you have probably found the same files as I did. A folder listing:

denon6.t35. com:
	1:
		index.html
	atop.html
	images:
		bar.jpg
		button.jpg
		danya.html
		dochelp1.html
		ideskintro.html
		index.html
		ipodsuxx.html
		iu2.html
		logo.jpg
		MsHelpDict.html
		Thumbs.db
	index.html
	p:
		images:
			bar.jpg
			button.jpg
			index.html
			logo.jpg
		index.html
	proxy:
		images:
			bar.jpg
			button.jpg
			ideskintro.html
			index.html
			ipodsuxx.html
			iu2.html
			logo.jpg
			Thumbs.db
		index.html

The file atop.html is only redirecting to another Canadian Pharmacy site, peacefulhard.com.

There are some links common in some of the files that I ignore (at this point).
Possible smokescreens, but you never know.

Some of the code found in several of the files were a bit more interesting, like this one:

h||p://91.203.93. 49/cgi-bin/index.cgi?user3

That is UATELECOM/ZHITOMIR-NET and it timed out for me.
But searching for that IP showed some hits, like this one from malwaredomainlist.com, from October 2008:

malwarefront. info/cgi-bin/index.cgi?user1	91.203.93.49	-	Exploits	malwarefront@hotmail.com

Which means that last October a domain called malwarefront.info was living at that IP.
So I had a walk over there, now malwarefront. info lives at 91.211.64.180, Ural-NET/Ural Industrial Limited Company.

It claimed I was infected:
"Warning: Your computer is infected with spyware!"
And gave a link further to h||p://malware-doc. com/
Not the same elegant use of javascript this time (I think, but be careful anyway).

Screenshot from malware-doc. com (click on the image for a bigger one):
Screenshot of malware-doc.com
Most of the links on malware-doc lead to an automatic download of the malware.
In addition there is a payment link called "buy.html" which lead to
secure.best-internet-payments. com (209.8.45.148 - see below):
Screenshot from payment site

A couple of notes here:
The "product" is called "AntiSpyKnight" and "Your statement will be under the name of PNRA".

malware-doc .com lives at 193.138.172.5 (BALTCONN-NET1/Baltconn SIA).
At the same IP there is/was a domain called antispyknight.biz in January 2009.
With mainly the same whois info as malware-doc.
Their malware has changed since that time, at least threatexpert found it a bit harmful back then.

malware-doc's IP - 193.138.172.5

A list of domains from bfk.de talks for itself.
At least one of those, iframestats.org is believed to be connected to Russian Business Network. I have not taken the time to wade through the list.

416085305.yandex2.cn A 193.138.172.5
pop.yandex2.cn A 193.138.172.5
www.tube2009.cn A 193.138.172.5
mirital.cn A 193.138.172.5
microsoftprogram.cn A 193.138.172.5
unkn0wn.cn A 193.138.172.5
392.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
293029553.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
377258584.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
559565.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
4816816.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
541986.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
gt.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
test.metago.cn A 193.138.172.5
glebgogo.cn A 193.138.172.5
traffuniq.cn A 193.138.172.5
kriziss.cn A 193.138.172.5
upd-windows-microsoft.cn A 193.138.172.5
www.upd-windows-microsoft.cn A 193.138.172.5
css-csript.cn A 193.138.172.5
workeveryday24.info A 193.138.172.5
ahack.info A 193.138.172.5
www.ahack.info CNAME ahack.info
bobthejoker.info A 193.138.172.5
www.00usa.net A 193.138.172.5
kva-kva.net A 193.138.172.5
photosfriend.net A 193.138.172.5
femoffice.net A 193.138.172.5
globaltotalpage.net A 193.138.172.5
www.cheapbestoemonline.net A 193.138.172.5
datingmore.net A 193.138.172.5
1bestoemsite.net A 193.138.172.5
livetubeportal.net A 193.138.172.5
matchxmaker.net A 193.138.172.5
upsphotos.net A 193.138.172.5
videoanswers.net A 193.138.172.5
meetcontacts.net A 193.138.172.5
kernet.net A 193.138.172.5
lastsoft.net A 193.138.172.5
www.farmhut.net A 193.138.172.5
catch-you.net A 193.138.172.5
globalprivatepagesex.net A 193.138.172.5
vpornuxe.ru A 193.138.172.5
mail.vpornuxe.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.postellmag.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.film-xxx-ok.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.xxx-cool-video.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.nice-xxx-video.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.best-xxx-video.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.nice-xxxvideo.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.callpartner.ru A 193.138.172.5
pornofoto-pizdi-genshini.vessexzdes.ru A 193.138.172.5
porno-xyi.vessexzdes.ru A 193.138.172.5
oralnoe-porno.vessexzdes.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.vessexzdes.ru A 193.138.172.5
pornobums.ru A 193.138.172.5
tds.pornobums.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.nicevideoforyou.ru A 193.138.172.5
date.flirplanetnew.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.multikxx.ru A 193.138.172.5
videoallxxx.ru A 193.138.172.5
www.xxx-videoxxx.ru A 193.138.172.5
sutra.aleby.ru A 193.138.172.5
javascript.bz A 193.138.172.5
www.callpartner.biz A 193.138.172.5
antispyknight.biz A 193.138.172.5

"Your statement will be under the name of PNRA"

A search for the phrase above results in the following:

  • secure.digibilling.com (dead), "SpywareRemover2009"
  • securepay.adioro.com (209.8.45.157), "Adio Registry Optimizer"
  • secure.goeasybill.com (209.8.25.202), "Internet Antivirus Pro"
  • secure.innovagest2000s.com (dead), "Spy Guard 2008"
  • secure.propayments.org (209.8.45.120), "Spy Protector"
  • secure.softsales-discount.com (209.8.45.114), "Virus Doctor"
  • secure-plus-payments.com (209.8.25.204), "Antivirus Plus"

In addition to secure.best-internet-payments.com above at 209.8.45.148.
Nicely spread across various IP's of something called Beyond The Network America, Inc, pccwglobal.com.
And if you take a closer look, you will also find that pccwglobal.com is hosting something at 207.226.175.xxx too. Sandi at Spyware Sucks has a nice list of domains from November 2008:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/11/18/1654421.aspx
("Pandora" definitely is a keyword.)

And Spamhaus has something to say too:
http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL67537
"fast flux DNS host & malware block (unidentified)"

Which raises the question:
What/who is actually Beyond The Network America/pccwglobal.com?
Should we rename it to Beyond The Network Russia?

A nice bouquet:
A "Canadian" Pharmacy spammer leading to malware leading to payment processors in USA.
With a little touch of the Russian Bussiness Network.

And there are still a couple of IP-addresses and domains to have a look at in the files above if you are willing to spend the time.